top of page

Reflections and Looking Ahead

Overall, 2017 was a pretty solid year. Looking back these 10 moments stand out the most.

10 - Success at Uni

I managed to pull off a 4.0 GPA and ace anatomy with an A+. Physio application basically requires a perfect GPA so I’m feeling pretty good about applying again next year.

9 - Sports Med Team

I was able to find a sports doctor (U of C Sports Medicine, Dr. Robinson) and chiropractor (RiverSide Sports Therapy, Dr. Dick) that were able to finally figure out what was wrong with my foot and get me back into running. It was a long 13months of no/minimal running and their optimism/perseverance immensely helped me get through it.

8 - Supportive Work

I spent the summer working at the Country Hills Golf Club. My managers and coworkers were super supportive and I was able to get a ridiculous amount of time off so I could do a ridiculous amount of training. I also managed to find another job in the fall that was understanding and encouraging of my triathlon pursuit (Sporting Life).

7 - Canmore Open Water Swim

The Canmore Open Water Swim is one of my favorite local races. Quarry Lake is probably one of the nicest open water swimming spots in Alberta. I was able to defend my overall title in the 3000m and just missed out on going sub 45.

6 - Edmonton Triathlon

I had my fastest 10km run split at the Edmonton Triathlon, completing it in 42min. This was pretty special to me, as I had only been cleared to resume regular run training a couple months previous.

5 - My Coaches

I have the best coaches ever. Lisa and Kyle know exactly what needs to be done in order for me to reach/surpass my goals. They have kept me positive through injuries and know exactly what to say when I have my mini meltdowns.

4 - Fall Running

I finished off the season injury free and was able to enjoy trail running throughout Calgary and Cochrane in the fall. Miss Sadie and I explored numerous new trails and had a blast.

3 - My Teammates

Triathlon may be an individual sport but I wouldn’t be where I am today without my teammates. We suffer together and make each other stronger.

2 - Vancouver Triathlon

The Vancouver Triathlon was my very first overall win. The course (Stanley Park) was beautiful and I loved swimming in the ocean.

1 - Wasa Triathlon

Wasa was my first Olympic distance race in 2 years. It felt so good to finally be injury free and back racing. Even better? I finally broke 2:30, finishing in 2:20.

Goals for 2018

I’m ending the year on a bit of a sour note with a nagging knee injury. I will find out January 5th if I can start running again. On the positive side, it has been ridiculously cold in Calgary so basically no one else has been able to run outside either - nothing is worse than driving along the river and seeing people having the time of their life running when you aren’t able to. I am aware of the existence of treadmills but seriously, what is worse than running in one spot in what might as well be a sauna because you are sweating so much?

In regards to looking at the future, I don’t love making goals. If you would have asked me at the beginning of last year where I saw myself in a years time my answer would have had zero relation to my current reality. Instead, I prefer to take it day by day. Keeping my head down, grinding out my workouts and putting faith in the system. That said, here are the 3 main “goals" currently fuelling my training.

1 - Win Wasa

I am well aware that placement goals aren’t the greatest as you only have control over yourself and not others. But, nothing is more motivating during a hard spin then remembering having the lead taken away from you on the bike and not being able to make up on the run.

2 - Run a sub 40min 10km

My current 10km PB is 42min so I’m feeling pretty ready to finally break that elusive 40.

3 - Defend my Canmore title for the 3rd year and break 44min

My goal last year was to break 45min, which I was unable to accomplish. I thought I might as well shoot even higher this year.


bottom of page